top of page

Why God wants the first things from us (productivity secret)

The other day, I woke up early and got myself involved into a good personal routine: meditation,prayer and doing a bit of laundry. As I was doing my laundry, I could not stop noticing the energy level invested in my task and suddenly I heard the Holy Ghost saying: 'The things that have top priorities and that we do first are always the best things done'. Jesus used to wake up early morning and pray to His Father, as the Bible says: 'Very early in the morning, while it was dark, Jesus got up,left the house, went off to a solitary place, where he prayed.' (Mark 1:35) Notice that Jesus was praying early in the morning because his energy was fresh from his sleep. He used his fresh energy to do the first things. And any productivity expert will confirm that the best accomplished tasks are the ones done first with the fresh energy in hand. There is a reason why God requests the first fruits from our productive work (Prov. 3:9). There is a reason why God wanted the first born of the Israeli families to be dedicated to him(Exodus 13:1-2). There is a reason why Jesus told us to seek first the Kingdom ( Matt. 6:33). God knows that the first things we do are always the best done. Let's look at our own lives...Anything that we prioritize, is always well done. It is true; think of certain examples such as 'watching TV for hours' as a priority above prayer, Bible meditation or real work. If someone makes 'watching TV' a strong priority, he will do it well and effectively because the best of his energy is invested in watching soap TVs. On the other hand, when we decide to push back the most important tasks at the bottom of our activity list, we tend to give it less and sometimes no energy. Let me prove it to you with an example: 'Let's assume that I have set a goal of exercising and lose weight every day. And instead of placing that goal at the top of my list, I start by doing other things such as partying, watching TV, eating fast food, chilling with the friends...and then when everything is done, I finally decide to go for a running jog. I might go for the jog or casually postpone it. If I go for the jog, then I am pretty sure that I will have little energy left to run properly. Alternatively, I may cancel my jog because I will have no energy left at all. Do you wanna know why some people don't Tithe? It's simply because they think of it at the bottom of their list, after the shopping is done. The reason why some people can't pray ,can't serve God, can't live the life God requires of them, is simply because it's never the first thing they do. Are you struggling to do the most important first? If it's the case, check your routine. When you wake up in the morning, what comes first? Is it your laptop or a TV show? And I know what it's like to act under the demanding pressure of work and life where it feels as if you need to have your laptop opened from the moment you wake up but Jesus said: 'Do not worry...seek the Kingdom of God first, and the life God requires of you ...' Jesus never said: 'Throw away all your regular tasks' but He is calling you to rearrange the order where His Kingdom comes before your work email and other issues you are facing. And as you prioritize His Kingdom, He will take care of your worries and I mean all your worries. That's a promise He made.

Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
bottom of page